Who has Confidence in the Speaker ?

Who has Confidence in the Speaker ?

Opposition political parties have  signed a no-confidence motion against Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa said the no-confidence motion is to be submitted to Parliament accusing the Speaker of unlawfully authorising the Online Safety Bill.

The Bill was found to be inconsistent with the Constitution by the Supreme Court, yet it was passed by Parliament and endorsed by the Speaker.




Central to the controversy is the Online Safety Bill and the Speaker’s alleged oversight in presenting Supreme Court-suggested amendments to Parliament. This lapse, according to the motion’s supporters, led to the bill’s contentious passage, raising questions about the integrity of the legislative process. The incident has attracted scrutiny, with critics arguing that it highlights a violation of parliamentary traditions and a disregard for the Supreme Court’s role in safeguarding constitutional governance.

Political Support 

Alliance members in the Samagi Jana Balawegaya and the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) signed the no-confidence motion.

The support of other opposition parties is to be sought for the no-confidence motion before it is submitted to Parliament for a debate and vote.

Legality :

The legality of the no confidence motion which is being brought against Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene is questionable, Minister of Justice Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe said today.

“The opposition claims that the Speaker got the Online Safety Bill enacted violating the constitution. It is not the Speaker who enacts a Bill. It is done by the MPs in Parliament.  Also the Supreme Courts never force the legislature to amend any Bill. It only looks into whether a Bill violates any section of the constitution or not. How can one accuse the Speaker of violating the constitution in such a scenario? Therefore the legality of the no faith motion that is being brought against the Speaker is questionable,” the Minister said.

“Ruling party MPs will decide on their stance on the no faith motion on the basis of its legality,” he added.

Related Articles