Fragmented SJB Alliance

Fragmented SJB Alliance

A section of the Nidahasa Janatha Sabawa (NJS) signed an MOU, last morning (05), with the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) to form an alliance.

Six SLPP MPs represenitng the NJS, Professor G. L. Peiris, Dilan Perera, K.P. Kumarasiri, Upul Galappatty, Wasantha Yapa Bandara and Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, signed the MoU at the BMICH.


Commenters point out that this alliance signals the diversions emergeing within the SJB .First of all  the NJS is a very much divided group and only a few have joined hands with Sajith and the SJB and on the other hand many in the SJB have raised objections to the new comes , specialy to Nalaka Godahewa who is facing allegations of  coruption and a key player of the Gthabaya Rajapaksha administration.

“People are yearning for someone who can dig the country out of the hole it is in” said  SJB national organiser Ranjith Maddumabandara.


A journalist commented that ” it is unfortunate that  Ranjith Maddumabandara has forgotten that these are the very people who joined with Gothabaya in digging the hole ”



Related Articles