Two governors refuse pensions, Cabral gets it

Two governors refuse pensions, Cabral gets it

While  Ajith Nivard Cabraal was governor of the Central Bank who took care to see that governors received pensions and he reaped the benefit of ever two other governors declined the offer.

Indrajit Coomaraswamy and Sunil Mendis were the former governors who declined the offer.

Mr Cabraal received pension benefits for his first term as governor from July 2006 to January 2015.

Subsequently, Mr Cabral now receives the benefit computed on a significantly higher salary for the mere six-and-a-half months he served as governor.

Although he said that he had nothing to do with obtaining pension benefits according to a Right to the information request made by the Sunday Times it is now clear that he had lobbied for the pension benefit.

The all-clear signal had been given by P.B. Jayasundera, who was the presidential secretary under ex-President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and is no stranger to controversy.

Surviving governors appointed after 1998 were made eligible for pensions under the new procedure. They were Mr Mendis (2004-2006), Dr Coomaraswamy (2016-2019), Mr. Cabraal (two terms), and W D Lakshman (2019-2021).Arjuna Mahendran, was not included as he has gone missing after court proceedings had been enacted indicting him in a bond scam.

A writ petition has been filed in the Court of Appeal seeking an interim order to stay the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka from paying a pension to the newly appointed Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabraal.

I did not take a penny as pension – said  Ajith Nivard Cabraal in 2021

Related Articles